Tag Archives: Award

Associate Department Head Recognized for Work with Graduate Students

By: Emily Foreman ALEC Associate Department Head Scott Cummings, Ph.D., received the Kunze Award from the Graduate and Professional Student Council. The award is named for George W. Kunze, Ph.D., long-time Dean of the Graduate College at Texas A&M University. The award acknowledges a faculty member, staff member, team of faculty or a Texas A&M University entity that has made outstanding contributions to the success and prosperity of the Graduate and Professional Student Council. Cummings’ work with graduate students is more than just a part of his job… Read More →

ALEC Faculty Attend AAAE Conference

Several ALEC faculty members attended the American Association for Agricultural Education’s 2015 national conference in San Antonio, Texas. Throughout the conference several faculty members received awards and recognition for their outstanding work in various areas: Kim Dooley, Ph.D. – AAAE Fellow Alvin Larke, Ph.D. – AAAE Honorary Lifetime Membership Award Clay Ewell – AAAE Special Award Robert Strong­­, Ph.D. – AAAE Outstanding Early Career Award Katy Lane and Theresa Murphrey, Ph.D. – Top Five Research Poster Encouraging Undergraduate Students in Agriculture to Pursue International Experiences: Preference and Motivation… Read More →

Taya Brown chosen to participate in AIARD’s Future Leaders Forum

By: Emily Foreman Congratulations to Taya Brown, a graduate student in the ALEC department, on being selected by the Association for International Agriculture and Rural Development as a participant in their 2015 Future Leaders Forum. She is one of 12 students to be chosen from a variety of universities across the United States. FLF recipients are selected on a competitive basis and must demonstrate an interest as well as experience in addressing international agriculture and rural development issues. Brown will be attending the 2015 AIARD Annual Conference in… Read More →

ALEC Student Receives Brown Rudder Award

2014 ALEC Reception Highlights

  By Caitlin Powers The Agricultural Leadership, Education, and Communications department gathered on April 11, 2014 to celebrate the department’s collective success. Students were awarded scholarships, recognized for outstanding achievements and organizational leadership. Each major within the department selects outstanding students to represent each class. Here are the 2014 Outstanding Students. Agricultural Communications and Journalism Outstanding Freshman – Mattie Chachere Outstanding Sophomore – Jordan Glidewell Outstanding Juniors – Amantha Hons and A-Micha Milla Outstanding Seniors – Joshua Hardcastle, Allyson Heil, Mollie Lastovica and Caitlin Powers Non-Traditional Students –… Read More →

Outstanding Performance Recognized

By Caitlin Powers Texas A&M AgriLife Extension recognizes faculty’s and staff’s outstanding job performance during the Superior Service Awards Program on Wednesday, January 8. Among the recognized were ALEC’s Jeff Ripley, Ph.D., assistant professor and extension specialist, and Paul Pope, extension program specialist III. “These awards are the highest honor conferred by AgriLife Extension to faculty and staff who have excelled in their job performance,” Douglas Steele, Ph.D., Texas A&M AgriLife Extension director, said in a congratulatory email. According to the Texas A&M AgriLife website, the award recognizes… Read More →

AGCJ Student Named 2013 American Horse Publications Travel Award Winner

By: Mollie Lastovica Senior agricultural communications and journalism student Misty Vidrine has been selected as one of three recipients of the 2013 American Horse Publications Travel Award Winners. Vidrine will receive a $750 travel stipend to attend the 2013 American Horse Publications Meet at the Peak Seminar in Colorado Springs, Colo. June 20-22. For Vidrine, the decision to apply for this award is one that has led to the opportunity of a lifetime.  She heard about the contest only days before the application was due and decided it… Read More →

Making A&M Proud: Former ALEC Student Recognized by the White House as Champion of Change

By: Mollie Lastovica With a passion for service and agriculture at his core, Pete Dreisbach, Ph.D., humbly accepted his recognition as one of 12 Champions of Change in 4-H and FFA on October 9. The distinction, bestowed by the White House, recognizes outstanding community members’ efforts to make a difference in the world. Dreisbach graduated from the ALEC department with a Ph.D. in agricultural education in 1985. “Being an Aggie has had an absolutely critical impact on my daily life,” Dreisbach said. “Professionalism, passion for agricultural education and… Read More →

Mobeen Recognized by Division of Student Affairs

Mobeen Recognized by Division of Student Affairs By: Mollie Lastovica Agricultural Leadership, Education and Communications graduate student Noor Mobeen was recognized in May as a recipient of the Division of Student Affairs’ Graduate Student Award of Distinction. Mobeen works as a tour coordinator and in Residence Life. His duties have included managing 30,000 prospective students for Residence Life, working with those and current students and giving VIP campus tours. Given to one graduate student per year within the Division of Student Affairs, this award recognizes his commitment to… Read More →

Dr. Larke

By: Debbie Prince Alvin Larke, Ph.D., was awarded the Texas Council of Alpha Chapters Humanitarian Award on Friday Feb. 17.Larke was nominated for the state award by his Pi Alpha Lambda Chapter. Out of twenty five people who were nominated, three were selected. The Humanitarian Award is awarded annually to a Brother in good standing who has distinguished themselves by engaging in humane acts and serving to promote Brotherhood and social well-being within the ranks of the Fraternity and throughout the community. Larke said he was not aware… Read More →