Tag Archives: Recognition

Ag Media Summit

By: Amantha Hons The temperature in the Arizona desert was nearing 90 degrees on Friday morning and the dry breeze felt like someone had pointed a hair dryer in your face. My group and I stepped off the charter bus into the sandy soil of a jalapeño pepper farm, the rows of bright green plants a stark contrast to the reds and browns of the desert landscape behind them. We gathered around the farm owner, Rob Knorr, as he talked about the new processes and technologies he had… Read More →

Associate Department Head Recognized for Work with Graduate Students

By: Emily Foreman ALEC Associate Department Head Scott Cummings, Ph.D., received the Kunze Award from the Graduate and Professional Student Council. The award is named for George W. Kunze, Ph.D., long-time Dean of the Graduate College at Texas A&M University. The award acknowledges a faculty member, staff member, team of faculty or a Texas A&M University entity that has made outstanding contributions to the success and prosperity of the Graduate and Professional Student Council. Cummings’ work with graduate students is more than just a part of his job… Read More →

Taya Brown chosen to participate in AIARD’s Future Leaders Forum

By: Emily Foreman Congratulations to Taya Brown, a graduate student in the ALEC department, on being selected by the Association for International Agriculture and Rural Development as a participant in their 2015 Future Leaders Forum. She is one of 12 students to be chosen from a variety of universities across the United States. FLF recipients are selected on a competitive basis and must demonstrate an interest as well as experience in addressing international agriculture and rural development issues. Brown will be attending the 2015 AIARD Annual Conference in… Read More →

AAAE Awards

By: Meagan Brown Agricultural Leadership, Education, and Communications Department faculty and staff were acknowledged at the annual American Association for Agricultural Education conference in Salt Lake City, Utah this May. ALEC Department Head, Jack Elliot, Ph.D., received the Outstanding Agricultural Educator Award for his exceptional career as an educator. Associate Head for Graduate Programs, Tim Murphy, Ph.D. was recognized for serving as AAAE president for the 2013-2014 year. According to the AAAE website, the organization is dedicated to improving the teaching and learning in agriculture by the sharing… Read More →

2014 ALEC Dean’s Outstanding Achievement Winners

By: Patricia Ward This year the Agricultural Leadership, Education and Communications department had three individuals who received the Dean’s Outstanding Achievement Award in the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences. These awards recognize, reward and encourage excellence in the work of faculty, staff and students. Assistant Professor, Summer Odom,Ph.D., received the award for her outstanding service. Odom has been with the college for 17 years. “Dr. Odom lives by example, providing selfless service to the profession, organizations, department and college. She impacts students and faculty in the way… Read More →

Rutherford Honored with Regional USDA Teaching Award

By: Meagan Johnson Tracy Rutherford, Ph.D., has been presented with the United States Department of Agriculture Regional Teaching Excellence Award. This award is given to recognize educators who go above and beyond in instruction, dedication to students, and the advancement of academia. After receiving her bachelor’s degree in animal science from Cornell University, Rutherford earned her master’s in speech communication and her doctorate in agricultural education, both from Texas A&M University. She was an assistant professor at Kansas State University and then returned to Texas A&M University as an… Read More →

2014 ALEC Reception Highlights

  By Caitlin Powers The Agricultural Leadership, Education, and Communications department gathered on April 11, 2014 to celebrate the department’s collective success. Students were awarded scholarships, recognized for outstanding achievements and organizational leadership. Each major within the department selects outstanding students to represent each class. Here are the 2014 Outstanding Students. Agricultural Communications and Journalism Outstanding Freshman – Mattie Chachere Outstanding Sophomore – Jordan Glidewell Outstanding Juniors – Amantha Hons and A-Micha Milla Outstanding Seniors – Joshua Hardcastle, Allyson Heil, Mollie Lastovica and Caitlin Powers Non-Traditional Students –… Read More →

Mobeen Recognized by Division of Student Affairs

Mobeen Recognized by Division of Student Affairs By: Mollie Lastovica Agricultural Leadership, Education and Communications graduate student Noor Mobeen was recognized in May as a recipient of the Division of Student Affairs’ Graduate Student Award of Distinction. Mobeen works as a tour coordinator and in Residence Life. His duties have included managing 30,000 prospective students for Residence Life, working with those and current students and giving VIP campus tours. Given to one graduate student per year within the Division of Student Affairs, this award recognizes his commitment to… Read More →

Sosniak Seizes Opportunity, Earns Scholarship Recognition

By: Mollie Lastovica Andrew Sosniak, senior agricultural communications and journalism major, was recognized at the 2012 Texas Association of Broadcasters Annual Convention August 8-9 as a recipient of the Vann Kennedy Scholarship. TAB awards eight $2,000 scholarships to Texas students annually and Sosniak was the lone Aggie to receive an award for the 2012-2013 school year. “This scholarship is a sign that all my hard work and dedication is paying off,” Sosniak says. “After having to leave school for a few years due to family health issues, I… Read More →

ALEC Student recognized as faculty and students attend Association of Leadership Educators conference

By: Taylor Demski Seventeen Texas A&M faculty members attended the Association of Leadership Educators conference in Key West, Florida July 8, 2012 through July 11, 2012, where ALEC Graduate Assistant Sarah Ho was recognized for leadership and student involvement. Those in attendance benefitted from listening to keynote speakers and networking with professionals in departments across the nation. The conference enables leadership educators to build relationships with others in the field thus allowing the possibility for further collaboration with other universities. Ho was awarded the ALE Founding Mothers’ Award…. Read More →